When You’re Left Speechless, You Read

I’ve always wanted to write. It’s the only way I know how to express myself. Yet, I find that when I am in a situation that can be so overwhelming, I find myself unable to write even if the material is right in front of me and is practically already written. Ironic, right?

When I can’t think of ideas or find the strength to write, I read. Here’s some great books I’ve picked up recently:

This Is How You Lose Her – Junot Diaz

– I haven’t read his previous books yet, but I have read some of these short stories in New Yorker issues.

The Year of Magical Thinking – Joan Didion

– Needs no explanation. Joan Didion is Joan Didion.

 This Is How a Person Should Be – Sheila Heti

– Been wanting to pick this one up for a while. I usually prefer non-fiction over fiction but I like Heti’s blend of reality and fiction. And the book takes place in Toronto.

A favourite quote so far:

“It’s time to stop asking questions of other people. It is time to just go into a cocoon and spin your soul. But when I got back to the city, I neglected this plan in favor of hanging out with my friends every night of the week, just as I had been doing before I’d left for the Continent.”

Out of the Blue – Jan Wong

– autobiographical account by the former, fierce columnist at the Globe and Mail following the Dawson shooting scandal. Beyond understanding Canadian media and Canadian identity, it’s a wonderful, personal account of dealing with loss, grief, and mental illness.

Do you have decent book recommendations? Send them my way.

Sometimes a person just needs to put the pen down, step back, breathe, analyze, and learn to pause before picking her pen back up. Who better to learn from than the amazing writers out there?

Leave a Reply

