Part II – One Morning At Harlem’s Morningside Park

The Grant Housing Boys – A Photo Essay

While at the car crash site, I met a woman, her son, and her son’s friends, all of whom live in the Grant Housing projects down the street from Morningside Park. They were friendly and willing to talk to me unlike some of the other residents who were suspicious of my presence, camera and all. Since I had to create a photo essay for a school assignment, I asked the woman, Liz, and her son, Larry, if I could follow Larry and his friends, Cortland and Corin, for the day to get a tiny glimpse of the life of a teenage boy living in Harlem. We spent time at the Grant Housing projects and then in Morningside Park.

These kids were gracious and adventurous. They gave me access into their lives – confiding in me their secrets and thoughts. I think I learned more about life and journalism by listening to them speak than I ever would sitting in a lecture hall.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

